Tilapia-Turkey Soup

I can’t think of a better name! It’s really more like tilapia cauliflower or leftovers and tilapia. See? If you have a better name, leave it in comments 🙂

I’ve got a cold / flu / lupus-flare going on, so I’ve been a mess. Yesterday, I had to prepare work lunches. Since I’m not 100%, I wanted to do something easy. Soup can be easy. Soup made from leftovers is even easier.

I had some frozen turkey stock I’d prepared long ago, frozen tilapia fillets and some cauliflower and carrots that I wanted to use.

I put about 2T EVOO in the bottom of a stainless steel, heavy-bottomed skillet. I put the heat on lowest setting (“simmer”) and added pearl onions (lazy-bones–they’re pre-cleaned!) and one clove garlic (love garlic but have been avoiding since it’s red-listed for people with lupus–one clove for an entire pot of soup can’t be that bad!).

I sautéed them, then added to it pre-steamed cauliflower and carrots and one boiled and peeled potato, sliced thinly (again, these are leftovers). I stirred them and increased the heat. I then took about 1t of cornstarch (prior to be gluten-free, I’d have used flour) and mixed it in into about 1/2C cold stock. I put it into the pan with the vegetables and stirred (hoping to thicken into a sauce). To my dismay, it didn’t thicken (I tried a second go and it also failed).

Since it’s soup anyway, I said “never mind” and added the rest of the stock (about 3C), stirred well, then raised the heat to a boil. While it was heating, I cut the thawed tilapia fillets in half, then strips across. I added them to the boiling stock, turned off the burner and stirred. As the outsides and edges turned white, I removed the pan from the burner. A couple of minutes later, I ensured the fish was done (looked white and then broke one piece to check for “flaking”). It was done.

Liquid Gold, I say!

I’m new to cornstarch as gluten-free thickener. I knew to pre-mix it in cold fluid, so no lumps but it didn’t discernibly thicken! It’s quite delicious, though. 🙂

Because of the potato and cauliflower, the soup could easily have been cooled (for safety), food-processed to “creaminess” (the potato starches would provide a thickness/ smoothness) and then heated again to cook the fish. I didn’t feel like all that — it tastes the same anyway…

Yum!

Tilapia-Turkey Soup

(measurements are estimates*)

  • 2 frozen fillets of tilapia
  • 3C turkey stock
  • 3C cauliflower and carrots (total)
  • 1 boiled & peeled potato
  • 1/2C onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2T EVOO
  • 2t (heaping) cornstarch (although it didn’t seem to do anything for me!)
Since the ingredients are leftovers/ prepared stock, I didn’t need to add salt, pepper or spices, although you should season to taste.
* Growing up on a working ranch; I was taught to cook as my father had been taught by his Irish mother. I cooked for the family from age 8 but that meant everything was either fried or boiled to death! I rarely fry now but still cook simply most of the time. I still don’t like to measure 🙂
7 thoughts on “Tilapia-Turkey Soup

  1. MLM says:

    My friend calls this “Refridgerator Stew”… tossing in whateve’s in the fridge/freezer and making soup 🙂 Sounds good! (minus the turkey!)

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Heck yeah, you can do it with virtually anything.

      Vegetable stock is MUCH quicker to make. You probably already do that, my vegetarian sister-friend?

      Like

      • MLM says:

        Thanks Lily 🙂 no, I don’t make stock but I do buy Garden Vegetable Broth in the can and I did get some wonderful vegetarian ‘chicken’ broth powder from amazon. Makes yummy soups. Thanks for the links – I will check them out.

        I actually do eat tilapia (have a weightwatchers recipe that uses chef prudhommes spicy redfish (or something like that) seasoning and it is delicious – hubby and kids like it too. I’m a lacto-ovo-pesce vegetarian as I eat shrimp, crab legs and crab cakes, tilapia, and occasionally some tuna salad.

        Like

        • Lily says:

          Ah, I thought you didn’t eat fowl and figured you didn’t eat mammals…I knew you took fish supplements but didn’t know you were eating fish!

          In that case, you can do this with fish stock.

          Like

I like it when you talk to me

