lazy: chile carnitas

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it one thousand times: I’m a busy girl–most people are! It’s nice to have Easy (Lazy) meal solutions. You may think this looks a lot like other skillet meals…that’s because it is a lot like skillet meals! Skillet-schmillet…

meat grinder -- we use one like this on the ranch

 

I used ground pork this time (I can’t avoid saying: “It’s the other white meat.“), which is lower in fat that traditional ground beef.

For non-US residents, ground beef is beef which has been run through a grinder (as shown to left) but unseasoned–it’s a crumbly consistency). I like using ground turkey breast or chicken breast for other low fat alternatives. While we still use the meat grinder, most often nowadays, I buy packaged ground meats at the grocery store or butcher’s shop.

This was the first time I’ve put pork in my chili and in honor of viva la diferencia, I made a “thick” chili rather than a soupy one. It turned out VERY tasty, mostly in part to the seasoning I used, which came prepared in a bottle (hello, Salpica! — said it’s “lazy!”).

Lazy Chile Carnitas:

  • 1lb ground pork (unseasoned!)
  • 1 jar Salpica Medium Black Bean Dip (GF, make sure yours is)
  • 10.5oz shredded carrots
  • 4 tins Contadina Tomato Paste (not sauce or you’ll have soup-which may be fine for you)
  • salt, pepper, other spices to taste
Fry the pork and drain fat and water when finished (I chose to salt and lightly pepper it with freshly cracked black pepper and a smidgeon of Hungarian paprika).

Damn it, Ma!

Place jar of Salpica Bean Dip (used version shown above), Contadina Tomato Paste and carrots over simmer / low heat. Add 1 tin of water (stir well and make sure it doesn’t burn on the bottom when you go have a chat with your mum in her kitchen). The sauce wasn’t ruined (whew!), so I poured off the good, then started soaking the burnt pan with water and baking soda. Works wonders!
After putting the small disaster to soak, I added drained, fried pork crumbles to the sauce (in the new pan) and stirred, then kept over very low heat for about 20-30 minutes. Nutrition shown at the bottom. Depending on how much you eat, I figured this for large servings. I’m splitting them down into 1/2 servings and serving atop a bed of baby spinach greens for my World Famous “Chili Salad” (I eat a lot of salads and sometimes, rather than be creative, I chuck whatever I have on hand on top whether it’s hambone and potatoes, chili, ratatouille or even soup!).

per myfitnesspal recipe builder

I like it when you talk to me

