‘Now bring us some figgy…pinwheels’

I love a traditional Christmas pudding as much as the next chubby chick but I can’t be bothered. (with hard sauce, please)

Finished fig pinwheel cookieI did bother with these Figgy Pinwheels (gluten-free, of course). After making them, I started thinking about the PRICE. That was over $15 for about 25. Eating for the Celiacs is usually not more expensive because I pretty much eat meat and freggies. It’s when you buy ready-made OR make a faux food (de-glutenizing ‘normal’ recipes), it starts racking up change.

reminds me of dad, though

reminds me of dad, though

 

They are tasty and received the coveted and rare 2 thumbs up from my father. Okay, that’s not dad. He has less hair and drinks his beer from the tin.

 

 

Figs sautéed in pomegranate juice

Sauté dried figs in pomegranate juice (I lucked out, the pommie juice was on super-sale or I’d never have bought it).

 

 

Fig fillingAdd maple syrup and process.

 

 

 

 

In case you’ve never seenBlanched almond flour blanched almond flour… I’ve used both natural and blanched. Blanched is lighter and less grainy, methinks. It also costs more! I typically keep natural. I’ve mentioned previously, nuts.com often beats everybody else’s prices and their quality is better IMO. BUT you pay SHIPPING and that’s painful. 😦

 

 

Pinwheel fig cookie batter

Mix dry ingredients together in separate bowl. Mix wet ingredients together in separate bowl (usual drill). Combine. Chill.

 

 

 

Fig pinwheel roll

Roll dough. Top with filling. Form into log/ pinwheel shape. Slice and bake. They rolled theirs thinner but to be honest, I didn’t have room! I considered doing two but couldn’t be bothered. This is rather a long haul for cookie-baking.

NOTE: recipe seems to use 2T maple syrup the way I read it but I only used one in the filling.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “‘Now bring us some figgy…pinwheels’

  1. My mouth is watering Lily, but with Mrs GOF away for Christmas I know how much cookin’ is gonna happen in this house. I might buy a christmas cake in support of a charitable organisation……that’ll save going into charcoal production in my own kitchen.

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Aw! I like cooking/ baking when I like cooking/ baking. I find whiskey helps (the cook). It got to where coworkers would ask (several years ago) before taking food I brought in, ‘were you drinking?’ They WANTED me to be drinking. It’s my good luck charm!

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

