My life in Nerd Boredom, part 17

I’m truly the most boring person. It’s not just because I’m old.

1) I don’t like TV. People talk about it all the time. I’ve considered maybe I’d be less of a weirdo if I watched their horrible shows so that we’d have something to talk about but I hate it so much, that it defeats the point if I’m tearing apart ‘their show.’

Most TV is a total fing waste of my 20 minutes of free time at home a day. …Unless it’s Breaking Bad, which is quality writing or True Blood, which is ridiculous but they have the hawt menz and truly, Sister isn’t that choosy.

GOLD!!!

GOLD!!!

 

'Honey, I'm home!'

‘Honey, I’m home!’

I’ve spoken of my love for Once Upon a Time, which is silliness but there’s nothing better for my dark heart than Good Ol’ Bobby Carlyle (he likes it when I call him that) being evil in a fantasy-spangled-and-lizard-eyed way?

It's ME!

It’s ME!

Regina is fanTAStic, as well. I want to grow up to be her–not the actor, Lana Parilla. I want to be an Evil Queen.

(shut up! I heard that!)

I had to share two BobbyC piccies. Yes, he’s in character. Not all Scots look like that.

 

HATE it when barber trims sides this close. It's meant to COVER my ears. Now, I look weird.

‘HATE it when barber crops sides too close. It’s meant to COVER my ears. Now, I look weird.’ Alan Cummings

Where was I? Right. I prefer film. I’m still fing reading Clash of Kings, as well. At this rate, I may die before Martin needs to finish the series.

…And I don’t fit in with those freaks, either! I don’t like Star Wars; I’m a Trekkie. Sure, I grew up reading PKD but I stopped somewhere (he’s still the shite but I just can’t be bothered, more on that later–I’m busy!)

Most sci/fi and/ or fantasy people do RPG or at least video games (do they still call them that?). I don’t. I play, ‘let’s cut down trees, chop them up and haul them from the forest so we don’t freeze to death in winter.’ It’s an Ozarks thing. There’s also ‘feed ripped off chicken heads to the hogs’ and ‘bush-hog the back forty,’ perhaps you’ve heard of them? We have loads of games but no internet. Satellite isn’t even available — really — or I’d have it!

See? Permanently uncool and boring.

 

::whispers:: I have a theory: don’t tell or you’ll send me toGitmo. When I was a kid, the military used to conduct dog fights (and I don’t mean with pit bulls but with jets!) over our heads. There’s an ‘abandoned’ air base right behind our property. Anytime something Big and Bad is happening in the world, I know when to turn on the news cos they start moving things (flying over). The last really cool thing I got to see was last year on 9/11/11 (the anniversary). Five old bombers from WWII flew over. You could hear them miles away and we waited for them, waving when they came over the treeline. They all dropped down in formation for us to get a good look! (or the other way around…creepy)

Anyhoozles! My theory is perhaps we’re in a ‘dead zone’ since we’re OBVIOUSLY a flight path for shite they don’t want normal people to see. And I’m not normal, so it works out! Wish they’d give me internet. I’m sure THEY have it. Jerks.

 

7 thoughts on “My life in Nerd Boredom, part 17

  1. I like your kind of weird. I don’t watch much tv at ALL. So I really can’t join in the convos about The Bachelor (YUCK) or Lost or Survivor or any of that crap. Sometimes I think maybe I should try harder, but, thanks but no thanks. It’s absolute shit and I’m not going to watch it.

    Ooo, maybe you are in a dead zone. But, that sucks for no internet. We have no cable, or DSL, so we have to use USB modems and satellite. Hubby keeps complaining he wants cable, but they are not putting cable down this road….we all have ten acre lots and there’s only about ten of us on the road.

    Whatever! I have internet, even though sometimes it’s slow and sometimes non-existent.
    I did get Season 3 of Trueblood so I can watch more of teh hawt menz. Yay! 🙂

    Like

  2. “It’s not just because I’m old.” Ummmm…..at your age are you not ‘peaking’ a tad too early? 🙂
    Bush hogging the back forty couldn’t possibly be boring, and the five bombers specially selecting your place to show off their skills. What more do you need. Television is crap compared to real life.

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Air Force favors us as their ‘hidden highway in the sky’ but over the years we’ve ALWAYS had wonderful encounters with the pilots and men they carried. They’ve brought down helicopters full of soldiers/ airmen whatever to where I saw their EYES … and smiles 🙂 A girl with a dog? I was a friendly sight, suppose!

      Like

  3. I’m guilty of enjoying a bit of telly. Can’t stand “reality” shows but enjoy a few programs on BBC. . The manservant did not own a TV until I came along – he often jokes to people that he got a wife who came with a dowry television.

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Dowry tele! Well, I hate to tell you this, darling: you’re normal. You may be Special in other ways but that’s the point: I truly don’t ‘get’ it. I don’t like it (unless it’s Star Trek or the odd other bit). I could name off what people talk about (at least some) and I’ve tried. I just don’t.get.it. It’s not because I’m more clever. I know VERY clever people (such as yourself) and it’s not my self-diagnosed ADHD (although I’ll continue to blame it on that) because I know people diagnosed by doctors with it and they watch TV all the time. That’s a mystery to me. If I cannot bear it, HOW CARE THEY? Anyhoo! I don’t get it…and I don’t fit in. Yes, I still want to fit in, at least a bit.

      Like

  4. I always feel a tad embarrassed for enjoying television (it’s a bit like the guilty pleasure derived from reading an airport “novel” ) – there are so many more constructive things I could (and should) be doing. Every year I say “I’m going to watch less tv this year” and then find myself parked on the couch just as much.

    Like

    • Lily says:

      I bet if I had more than 20″ of free time a night, I’d find something (or watch an entire film). You probably have the time to kill! That’s kind of hard to work against but if there’s something else you love (painting!), you can easily switch it out. I COULD be playing uke for 20″ but usually watch a bit of a rented DVD or read on that fantasy novel!

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

