Rose petal Bath Salts

rose petal bath salts

rose petal bath salts

After taking a soak in 2T of this, I smelled all girlie and pretty and loverly!

  • dried petals from one rose
  • about 1/2 C salt (I used a mixture of table salt and sea salt crumbles)
  • about 1/4 C epsom salts
  • about 1/4 C baking soda
  • to boost the rose: 3 drops of rose absolute
  • about 12 drops geranium oil
  • 3 drops patchouli

Pulse the mixture until it’s evenly distributed and standardized consistency. I put some in a spice bottle and the rest in my bath and to my mother.

Geranium oil is an old perfumer’s trick to boost or make up for the far more expensive rose oil. I didn’t use a ton of rose oil because I prefer geranium, go figure. I also adore patchouli but many people do not. I’ve received unsupportive comments from coworkers when I used to wear patchouli deodorant. I still sneak some in — it works well in this combo as rose and geranium are strong. As I used a red rose, the mixture turned pleasantly pink!

Everybody knows that I digress and my mind hops from one thing to a slightly-related other thing…All this talk of roses at the same time as Mardi Gras in NOLA was celebrated early?

NSFW (actually, the video isn’t ‘video,’ it’s a tiny clip of the song from a recent live show — there are some Words in the full version, so you’re warned just in case)

One thought on “Rose petal Bath Salts

  1. Laurie says:

    Sounds very nice. I love the smell of patchouli, brings back a lot memories from way back. I bought some patchouli soap for a friend & forgot to send it so I have it near me & love the smell, so I guess it really was for me!

    Like

I like it when you talk to me

