Barely sauerkraut

Seeing as I left my house today before sunrise (saying something in summer) and I’ll be gone 10 days, I had to pull out the kraut yesterday.

It had 2 weeks to ferment, which in summer, I reckoned would be time to do 1.5 – 2 batches.

I’d failed to understand (as I never did it this way) that CLUMATE CONTROL (a/c) really slows it. Really.

I need up with 2 gallons (from 4lb of cabbage) of barely sauer and still-too-crisp kraut.

It’s edible but I don’t know if it’s broken down enough to not make me fart!

20130609-073408.jpg

20130609-073430.jpg

If you look closely, you can see ‘grandma Boone’ on that collider. That was my great-grand baba’s. the kraut crock was probably hers, as well. I grew up using both and still do. Four generations!

I like it when you talk to me

