2 pounds of cranberries: booze, muffins & compote

I’m not sure what I was thinking other than, ‘Three dollars for 2 pounds of cranberrries? Get in my TROLLEY!’

Two pounds of cranberries is about 4 times the normal bag of cranberries people buy for a nuclear family dinner. If you’re serving 30 or more people (like we always did), sure, you need more.

I didn’t buy it to serve at a dinner. I bought it to experiment!

apple cranberry compote BEFORE blending in the topping.jpgFirst, I tried a sort of compote — or what I’d call the cooked fruit and nut stuff that looks like it ought to be inside a pie but people often eat with breakfast, often atop pancakes or crepes. While I was making it, I thought about making a sort of paleo pie-crust topping for it, just to see if that worked, like a sweet pot pie, almost. Mmmmmnah. I ended up stirring the topping into the bottom and liked it much better. The only difference between what would’ve been quite normal as to this mess (which is delicious but ugly; a common theme in my cooking) is a LOT of fat, since I’d attempted it as a crust / top. Also, the pieces of walnut were rather smooth instead of obviously ‘gibbled’ as Gram said.

simple syrup.jpgblanched cranberries in syrup.jpgSecond, I was going to infuse some mandarin vodka with cranberries but at the last moment, decided to try something Different. I hurry-up-quick made a simple syrup (thin, 1:1) and tossed them in to blanch. Absolut Mandarin.jpgI didn’t want to cook them (pop, like in cranberry sauce), just hit ’em with the heat and prep them for melding with the syrup and booze. I transferred them to the Hillbilly equivalent to fancy glassware (a quart canning jar) and poured the vodka over.

My guess for use?

  • pretty as a boozy picture.jpgatop ice cream, hello?
  • inside chocolate (using mini-cupcake or candy moulds, pour some melted chocolate, then fill, then top with melted chocolate
  • mix with some Sprite / 7 Up / Fresca and drink, heck, maybe coke with lime?

Any ideas? I reckon it should marry 1-2 weeks, since heat was used on the fruit.

 

cranberry muffins.jpgThird, muffins! These, like all else, are grain free, dairy free, full fat and sweetened with maple syrup or honey. It’s a fairly standard muffin, ya know, factoring in the above, and then I put 7 cranberries on top (there was at least 2C of cranberries processed within) and a little ground pecans with honey, coconut oil and cinnamon sprinkled on top. The cranberries burst and melted in with the heat.

6 thoughts on “2 pounds of cranberries: booze, muffins & compote

  1. Sheila says:

    I LOVE me cranberries! I buy as many as will fit in my freezer, they last well! I use them fresh in smoothies, use them in cranberry orange muffins… I have made cranberry sauce, but my FAVE is just fresh. YUM

    Like

  2. Nice! Last year, I made a cranberry infused gin that was pretty good — though I certainly didn’t need a whole 5th of it.

    The best recipe was 2 oz cranberry gin (though you could use vodka, natch) a little simple syrup, 1/4 lemon diced, a few cranberries (optional: a sprig of rosemary). Muddle the lemon, cranberries, simple syrup, and rosemary, add the booze, shake and strain into a rocks glass with ice. Pret-ty tasty! 🙂

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Okay, this already has syrup, cranberries, vodka, so possible just garnish with lime or lemon? I mean, I basically made cranberry orange vodka syrup! ;p

      I think I’ll take it to work Friday and see what we can manage to get it down with (our half day).

      Like

  3. Thanks to Sheila; I never thought of freezing them, but I’m all over it now! And thanks to you, Lily. I’ll be having cranberry-orange muffins this weekend!

    Like

    • Lily says:

      It’s so festive this time of year!

      People often these days don’t realise that cranberries were a rare red fruit (where I live) but got trucked in specially for Thanksgiving. THEN it’s super-traditional for citrus to be a rare gift at Christmas (winter) because we don’t have any of that for about 1000 miles from here.

      We got fresh citrus because an neighbour I refer to as Old Helen travelled each year to visit her sister in Fla.

      She’d bring a crate! For our stockings, we had oranges, grapefruit and nuts (which were locally picked up).

      I’m about the last generation to know about this stuff!

      So, to me, cranberry orange is VERY festive!

      Did they do similar where you grew up?

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

