GOF makes a fine tourist agent for Cairns!

Whee! After no post for three days, -when it otherwise would’ve ran but for weather  I’m getting stuff again. Got my Netflix DVD, junk mail, a calendar I’d ordered for Spike and a big, fat envelope from Australia!

It’s stuffed full of brochures for local attractions and two neato-bandito ticket stubs from their visit to the Historic Park. Go see posts about the Cairns area here. He does lots of lovely photos and describes the places they day-trip to, though they live in a rainforest nearby and you’ll see photo of their nursery and home, as well.

20140110-085454.jpg

20140110-085510.jpgAnd seriously, with 3 days delay, this only took 10 days to get here? That’s only 7 days travel from WAY OVER YONDER!

Thanks, Mr. GOF! When I win lotto and / or get myself a few thousand dollars for travel, I really do want to visit Australia. The problem is it’s so BIG that you need a long time and ‘extra’ money to jump from part to part. I mean, I could just move there for a few years, I suppose…

 

16 thoughts on “GOF makes a fine tourist agent for Cairns!

  1. That is super fantastic! I am running out of superlatives.
    I really want to go to Australia, too. And you really would have to have plenty of time to see much. Those brochures look like a blast!

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Who doesn’t? I think all Americans love Australia! Any I’ve known who’ve gone did. FS’s sister next to her (100% bio, she has some other partials) lived there for a year with some missionary family. That sounds like they were out trekking around but it means she just partied for a year (no drugs or booze, being missionaries). It was almost more of an exchange, where an American got to go there (to stay in a family in that church) and then an Aussie got to stay with some family from the American church. It was like winning the lottery, really, she’d never held a job and wasn’t going to school, just got to play tourist for a year.

      Like

  2. Awesome! What a neat thing to receive in the post.

    I’d love to visit Australia and New Zealand. The flight time is one thing that keeps me from pursuing it seriously. And money…to fly that far I’d want to stay there for several weeks-months.

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Exactly! If I cross even the Atlantic, I don’t want to stay shorter than 2 weeks. I can’t imagine the almost 40 hours IN FLIGHT and then lay-overs involved BOTH WAYS. We’d need to stay months, right?

      Like

  3. You’re very welcome…..and I could lend you a bicycle to travel around Australia on, and if Lauri arrives at the same time she could use Mrs GOF’s bike that she bought for exercise purposes ten years ago and which has done at least 2 miles in total since then. 😉

    Like

    • Lily says:

      If only I could ride a bike…Remember when I mentioned about not having a focal point, meaning I don’t have depth of field? One bikes, I run into things like trees and posts. It’s absolutely true. Born this way. I still drive a car but reckon that explains all the crashes — plus, I started driving a tractor for several years before I graduated up to the farm truck (which was indestructible) when I began driving on highways at age 11. The world is lucky I grew up in a place so remote from others. The real trouble began when I moved to a suburb of the suburbs of St. Louis.

      Like

      • I’m building a sidecar for the bike so Lauri can pedal you around the continent……I’m not too sure about her fitness level….you might have to get out and push her up the steeper hills.

        Like

        • Lily says:

          Ooo! This is exciting! How about pedals in the sidecar, as well? I’m happy to help. I can also store and supply vodka and wine.

          Like

  4. Together they would have no problems. And the rest of us could take care of the vodka and wine. 😉 Looking forward to all this very much!

    Like

I like it when you talk to me

