recipe, gluten free Rosemary and Olive Oil snack crackers

I could've tried cutting them but why bother when you can experience the joy of breaking things with your bare hands?

I could’ve tried cutting them but why bother when you can experience the joy of breaking things with your bare hands?

I’ve written about the addiction I have to a certain Rosemary and Olive Oil Snack Cracker. The box contains 4 servings -bullcrap! but I’m extremely proud if I can make it last two.

In the interest of saving money and slightly healthifying it, I done tried my own.

I used a pizza stone because I foresaw this being an Issue in removing from a pan, once finished. I can’t say what it would’ve been like because I avoided future disaster by baking on a perfectly flat surface (no edges). The downside is a pizza stone takes longer to cook but this is Midwest winter, so that wasn’t a downside. I don’t recall how long they were in, as usual, I bake by smell more. When I started smelling both the spice and a ‘browning,’ I started checking on them until I decided to remove them from the oven. You can tell from the photo, the edges were truly browned while the inside was not. I also foresaw this and almost laid the dough out in two strips, to promote more browning (providing more edges) but was that lazy and didn’t. I suggest doing that if you like the browned bits, as I do.

  • 1/4C white rice flour
  • 1/4C white sorghum flour
  • 1/4C tapioca starch
  • 1/4C quinoa flour (note, I normally avoid quinoa as it causes GI distress but I already have this and reckoned testing in a small amount)
  • 2T Olive Oil
  • 1/2t rosemary
  • 2T chia seeds
  • water to make dough
roll, roll, roll

roll, roll, roll*

outside browner than inside, see?

outside browner than inside, see?

Toss it all in together save the water. Add water little at a time, I started with 1/4C and think it took about half as much more. I don’t enjoy measuring, although I did use a tablespoon (T) to keep my additions consistent. You know it’s right when it looks like dough. I smooshed it out on the pizza stone –why make more mess? and used parchment paper (waxed paper is fine) and the nearest rolling pin -mine happened to be a bottle of pineapple rum to smoosh out. Bake at 400F til done. Break up or cut. As the inside dries, it will harden but it’ll be a wee bit pliable before them. The edges will break very easily (so does the inside but it won’t ‘crackle’ when warm).

 

* Roll, roll, roll…

2 thoughts on “recipe, gluten free Rosemary and Olive Oil snack crackers

  1. Sounds delicious and healthy……as does the lady’s offer of ‘ze roll in ze hay’……if I could just remember what that’s all about. 🙂

    Like

    • Lily says:

      I wouldn’t call these *healthy* because they’re a high glycemic load with little nutrients BUT if you’re going to eat junk food, homemade is always healthier:)

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

