Fat Tuesday/ Mardi Gras/ Pancake Day/ Shrove Tuesday

They are the same thingThey’re always the Day Before Ash Wednesday.

Every year, I have coworkers gaily wishing, ‘Happy Fat Tuesday! Happy Mardi Gras! What does Mardi Gras stand for, anyway?’

Mardi=Tuesday

Gras=Fat

Pancake Day / Shrove Tuesday / Mardi Gras / Fat Tuesday was (and is) a BLOW OUT!

mule feedbag birthday ration cardIt’s our PARTY, a chance to strap on the feedbag (and get lost in a bottle) before the austere Lenten season, which is a time of absolution and penitence.

Think of when people say, ‘What are you giving up for Lent?’ People nowadays don’t live so austerely for faith but they will give up one thing. Of course, everybody’s different. Some completely non-religious people give up something for Lent and some otherwise pretty religious people don’t bother getting ashes on Ash Wednesday, nor give up anything for the season.

In the St. Louis region, -currently, there’s nothing in the finder but Lent hasn’t started yet. The link is still provided as proof that the local TV station sees the need to provide it!  the Lenten season is known as FISH FRY SEASON! It’s a massive fundraiser, lasting all 40 days of Lent, for churches. They put on fish fries every Friday and sometimes other days.

Mardi Gras: Boobs 'n Beads

Mardi Gras: Boobs ‘n Beads

At work, they bring in jambalaya and pastries (sometimes a King Cake) and have a raffle (50/50, this pays for other holidays). I’m very lucky and a certain coworker named Marie has learnt all about Celiac. She provided a whole HUGE fruit basket of apples, mandarin oranges and bananas (all things she has seen me eat). Is that not the sweetest thing in the world? I can eat those because they came perfectly packaged 🙂 I wish that I could do the pastries and jambalaya but having somebody think of me and provide options touches me, truly does.

What are you doing, you booze hounds? PS: my brother and foster sister (FS) both share today as a birthday, which happens to fall on Mardi Gras this year. Neither plan on making the most of it. You know I WOULD! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday/ Mardi Gras/ Pancake Day/ Shrove Tuesday

  1. That is SUPER sweet of your co-worker! My daughter always makes something gluten-free when there’s a potluck at work because one of her co-workers has Celiac. She’s such a sweetie!

    Like

    • Lily says:

      That’s really sweet of her~

      But I wouldn’t eat it.

      Unless a kitchen is 100% free of gluten, I’ll get cross-contaminated. I’ve CC’d myself at work, using the sink! Even a microscopic piece of gluten on a fork that ran through the dishwasher will do it.For how sick it makes me (and the risk of shutting down organs? I do not need to go on a kidney waitlist!), it’s not worth risking. This is the biggest freaking drag you can imagine. Her coworker may not be as far ‘progressed’ as I am, which is a great thing to keep it arrested where you can. I’m super-happy that I’m not as bad as mum, for example but SHIIIIIIIIT. That lady’s messed up ;p

      Like

  2. Kudos to Marie! Good on her! That makes me almost believe in the goodness of people. Almost.

    No special plans here (for tonight or in the Lenten-abstaining) and I don’t think I want to go anywhere NEAR downtown San Diego tonight!

    Like

    • Lily says:

      Thanks! I’m happy enough to not have people tell me that I’m a snob for not eating their food or claim that I’m pretending to have an illness.

      Anything ABOVE that, amazes me!

      Like

  3. Another vote of support for Marie from me too. Considerate friends are hard to find. Thank you for this educational discussion about Mardi Gras and Shrove Tuesday Lent and all your customs surrounding them.

    Like

I like it when you talk to me

