Bloginfidelity

Leaving RealMe behind, I’ve gone from a couple hundred readers to what looks like SEVEN. -HAR!

I’d never given up MT, continued a-tweeting but couldn’t handle 2 blogs when The Duchess dropped dead -she was resuscitated the second time. That took up about half the time I’ve been not blogging on MT and the other half was simply habit. Now that I’ve given RealMe the deep cover (moved posts here and shuttered that as private but even I won’t be using it–I didn’t delete it for one reason: it would retire my real name from ever being used…maybe when I win the lotto I won’t mind who knows my name as I won’t be looking to get a job?!).

Anyhoozles. It’s a drastic drop!

20140416-160259.jpg

8 thoughts on “Bloginfidelity

    • I grew very accustomed to checking the searches (some were just funny but many gave me ideas to fulfill whatever people had come looking for). The numbers are always in there and I’d lie if I didn’t say I looked! My most popular incarnation, years ago, got about double what RealMe was getting on average. I posted a lot but also a lot of creative, original work.

      MT has always been more my ‘personality’ blog:)

      Like

  1. Oh, but we are 7 very faithful readers 🙂 I think it depends on the reasons why one blogs as to whether those numbers are important or not. I started mine as a way for some family & friends in Australia (5 or 6 of them anyway) to see what I was doing on this side of the world and as a sort of journal for myself for future reference – of course that last depends on a platform staying in business! It was good that we knew Vox was going so we had the opportunity to port things over to TypePad and WP etc.

    Like

    • And what a fab 7 you are!

      You may not recall but I self-ejected from Vox a bit before they officially shutdown because I could see it coming after they hit like #8 on my list of ‘this is what a failing blog service looks like’ list. I’ve lost 3 blogs to ventures that just plain shutdown without warning. You won’t believe it but THIS time (RealMe to MT) is the first that I’ve migrated!!! When you’ve lost years of posts THREE TIMES over, you kinda go, ‘Meh, okay.’ Granted, the first time, I probably laid in bed and cried. ;p

      Anyway, I could’ve done without moving these over but it was so EASY with WP to do it, it seemed kinda silly not to do it.

      Your story of why you started reminded me of why I started at Vox. I had been completely offline for 6 months due to an IRL stalker (police detectives told me to shut down EVERYTHING IRL or online — like don’t go to anything normal, change routes, always keep an aggressive posture in public and kept eyes UP and head rotating to always take in 360, etc.). After 6 months of being under house arrest, I poked my head into the blogaphere again — under a pseudonym. I’d always used them before but I’d never heard of Vox before. I found something that wasn’t popular (it was new-ish, at least in 2006 when I started MT there) and immediately fell in love with the community. Anyway, later in 2006, I got on FB and right away THREE people were there. I was like, ‘What’s the big deal?’ But hardly any non-kids were there yet in 2006! About a year later, that really exploded. I still preferred Vox ;p

      Vox was special.

      Like

  2. OK…I’ve tracked you down again. 🙂
    Good that you didn’t delete your RealMe blog….one day you might appreciate reading through it again. And this is a very attractive theme too.

    Like

    • Thanks! I transferred (‘migrated’) all the RealMe posts HERE! It was very easy.

      RealMe is now 100% empty (just like my real head) and locked away. If anybody gets in, it’s blank anyway.

      I changed themes about 5 times today. Hopefully this last one is acceptable for a while:)

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

