Cake or Death / Science or God

Firstly, I love Ira Flatow and SciFri but also, as a person of faith who loves Science, I’m saddened by people who believe they have to choose one side or the other because my friends, that’s some BS you bought.

I’m not religious by following particular dogma because I don’t need that. Many people need to feel they have chosen the Right One, not all people who choose a religion believe it’s the Right One for All. If you think that about others, you bought some more BS. Sadly, some people believe they have chosen the Right One. What a frightening world they live in. I know many people like this and they’ll say, ‘I’m not afraid!’ And then go on about all the stuff in this world that scares them. To them? I’m going to Hell. I’ve been told as much literally and I don’t mean figuratively hundreds of times. I grew up on Missouri. Of course I’ve heard this a lot.

I grew up with so many faiths being practised in my own family — sometimes siblings hating siblings for it — that it was an easy thing to understand it’s ridiculous to think your faith is better than somebody else’s based upon your God loving X more.

Towards the beginning, the author mentions Richard Dawkins being rude to his young daughter. The author was at a conference lecturing on Science…cos he’s a scientist. If you know of Mr. Dawkins, I think you’ll agree, he enjoys perfecting rudeness to the point of celebrity. I’ve listened to and agreed with him on a lot but I can’t tolerate him for long because he’s a bigger asshole than I am. I prefer to be the biggest asshole in any given situation.

Since I don’t restrict myself to dogma, only being the biggest asshole around, I’m fairly okay with anybody’s opinions. Your belief isn’t going to scare the Jesus into or out of me. I’ve heard that I’ve scared the Jesus out of others but like Dawkins, that just makes me smile.

-are the new readers gone yet?

I’m frightened by the lack of education in American schools and that comes from ME. -lets chorus on about how my school was proclaimed the worst in the USA (back at the time I was a student) by Newsweek for violent crime, drugs and illiteracy, explains me, doesn’t it?

They teach even less Science now and it’s a shame because I feel such wonder, enjoyment and gratitude to what I call God for these opportunities and gifts: a universe and our minds to explore it!

Anyway, here’s the podcast for anybody still reading 🙂  I just like that somebody is speaking out about this because all the scientists* I grew up with as a kid also were people of faith (like me, not necessarily congregationalists but sometimes!).

 

* Offhand, I can think of 3 nuclear physicists, a handful of chemical engineers (well, technically they studied a LOT of Sciences and Maths) and then, of course, a few AWESOME Maths and Sciences teachers, including one astrophysicist). I’m sure that I’m skipping some because they’ve been dead a long time. The bottom line from all of them, through our separate discussions was that it wasn’t a choice to them. I guess that’s why I never thought I had to make a choice either.

5 thoughts on “Cake or Death / Science or God

  1. tom says:

    I’m like you, in that I follow no specific dogma–e.g., I’m not Catholic or Methodist, etc–but I believe. The odd thing is, I LOVE reading atheist books. Most of them are terrible, because they quote the Bible in their anti-God rants. Wha? If there’s no God, how can you use His words against Him…it beggars the imagination. I like what I’ve read of Sam Harris, but give me Chris Hitchens any day. I’m in the middle of “God is NOT good: How religion poisoned everything.” He writes frantically, and talks about the different faiths. The difference is that he’s worked within them all (up to where I am). He has an insider’s view of why faith–in his opinion–is so dangerous. Dawkins has always sounded like a pompous asshole to me, and–as always–I kneel at the feet of your assholery. 😉 (Also, I like cake and science and God and, when the time comes, death)

    Like

    • What a sweet comment! I reckoned somebody would kick me in the nuts. Good thing I don’t have any but if you’ve noticed, the Ladies are sensitive in the front bottom area, as well.

      Anyhoo! I’ve read some articles either op-ed or quoting Hitchens and liked what he said but that’s VERY limited. I’ve heard far more Dawkins.

      I think that I know what you’re talking about with most atheist writers or podcasters or whatever. I work with somebody who is VERY Bible literate. He was raised Catholic (‘what Catholics read the Bible?’ — bit of a joke, of course some do) but moreover, he became born-again-protestant in his early 20s and proselytised profusely and with great ANGER (at being ‘raised wrong’ as an ex-altar boy) until he finally ‘studied himself out’ of faith. If you’re from around the Midwest or South, you’ll know the phrase ‘studied himself out,’ which I think proves something’s WRONG. Yeah…don’t STUDY or LEARN cos you may find there’s something fishy in Denmark!

      ANYWAY My point is, people like him (and I know others but he’s easy to pick on because this very second I can shout out: Yo, what’s Corinthians 2:12?’ and he can spout it out) tend to be VERY angry once they reach atheism.

      People who weren’t raised with religion sort of don’t give a shit. Again, in my experience. Some, kinda like to poke badgers with sticks (meaning any of Them, religious or otherwise) but that’s just a personality thing. I was raised going to all these churches and having them dance around or shout or spout or cosy up and cajole then try to hook you and I just didn’t care because I’m okay with what I believe and it can and has changed over the years. No harm, no foul. People could say that I’m agnostic but nothing’s farther from that. I’m just WEIRD and believe it all (sort of) but only put energy into some.

      Like

  2. I was raised capital-C Catholic, but have wandered away from the faith over the decades — hastened of course by the sex scandals and cover-ups. Reprehensible. Though I still think about philosophy and theology. I do it all the time, really.

    I’d argue the scientific method has been the greatest instrument for determining truth that we have yet devised. Certainly more so than organized religion. Of course, scientific analysis is restricted to things we can study, measure, predict. Anything outside of that is fair-game for speculation — and that’s what drives the pro-science zealots (and they’re zealots just like religious zealots) off the deep end. It’s too bad because as with anything, I think speculation, questioning and curiosity is crucial to understanding.

    Like

    • I tend to not think of (never have til reading your comment) ‘pro-science zealots.’ I think anybody pro-science would agree with what you said. The angry atheists (I’ll call them as I see them and I love some of them!) aren’t coming from a pro-science. They’re reacting against something else, The Man, whether it be their Bible-clutching father, the Holy Father or Them That Told Us Fables as kids. I just don’t get why anybody strongly pro-science gives a shit.

      NOW… if you want to argue about something, those who ‘don’t believe in evolution’ can waggle at me all they like. They’re crazy. 🙂

      Seriously.

      I had a discussion last week with one of my angry atheists (the one I mentioned who can quote any Scripture you chuck at him) and one of what I’d have ALWAYS called a liberal, hippie-like 60-something friend about the Big Bang (which I still think is the biggest problem — the name…if they called it only ‘theory of expansion’ nobody would say boo). TO MY HORROR she thinks I’m the equivalent of talking to tiny green men for supporting that. She’s not ‘religious.’ The discussion went on for some time and basically she says, ‘the universe just is.’ She doesn’t think the FSM came along and made things happen, mind you. And I get if she doesn’t CARE how or why it happened but to think OTHERS are whacky for something we can MEASURE? I don’t get her.

      She gets global warming (on a layman’s level), so it’s not like she denies everything.

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

