mammy’s bday / Dying by XTC

-it’s her bday now, so I’ll stop on this for the next year minus 2 weeks

 

about 2-3 years before she died

about 2-3 years before she died

Skylarking is a fantastic album by one of the influential bands of my youth. It has grown with me, as I’ve aged.

This included the first time I heard ‘Dying’ after my mammy had dropped dead. When it got to  ‘sweet jar on the sideboard and the multi-colour tea cosy,’ I lay on the floor sobbing. It popped up today. I don’t cry when I hear it anymore but I’ll always ever think of her.

‘Dying’ starts at 3:34. Youtube says it’s set for starting there but it ain’t a-workin’. Song before is a good song, mind you, but I’m talking about the one starting at 3:34. Sorry for BS.

 

5 thoughts on “mammy’s bday / Dying by XTC

    • That song is from the early 80s, so had no connotation as such until after she died, when I heard it. I probably worded it wrong but I’d known the song for years, then it popped up one dat after she passed and hit me like a train. From then on, I think of her sideboard, the sweet jar on it and all those years of after school tea.

      Like

  1. I SHOULD know that song, and I don’t! But music and scent are the most powerful. I would smell a certain smell for YEARS after my Mom died and break down. I was unnerved by our last RN at work she was about my Mom’s age, wore the same perfume and had the same smoking habit! She SMELLED like MOM!! Very unsettling!!

    Like

    • That’s true. I bought some conditioner that makes me smell like The Duchess. Not her brand but smells like her, plus her cigs (some fragrances contain tobacco as a note). I won’t throw it out even though it was only $3 but I DO mix another product in to use, which throws off the scent.

      I do NOT want to smell like or be reminded of my mother in that way. Smell is VERY strong!

      Like

    • And Dying was never a radio song for them. I think Generals and Majors or Senses Working Overtime are about their biggest if only US hits.

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

