Memorial Weekend, Pork Steaks

When locals move away and come back to visit, they always have a story about how the new butcher has no idea what a pork steak is.

Today’s ‘close world’ of internet and cable TV has educated Flatlanders about the much-loved pork steak but it isn’t yet as popular dehors than here. We’ll kill you over pork steaks.

If there’s a BBQ or a summer event of any kind here, you’ll find pork steaks!

My Irish granny baked hers after dredging in flour and served with final topping of ketchup.

My mammy used BBQ sauce and grilled hers. I grew up enjoying them both ways but my favourite is baked-plain on a pan with oven fries, which soaked up some pork fat as they cooked, making them extra delicious, if humble in appearance.

I marinated mine in apple cidre vinegar, a mélange of spices, and Himalayan pink salt. I baked them on a roasting rack above asparagus cut today and some store-bought yellow tomatoes. Mangez-bien!

20140525-103642-38202804.jpg

2 thoughts on “Memorial Weekend, Pork Steaks

  1. I don’t believe I have ever had a pork steak. Pork chops, pork shoulder, pork loin, pork tenderloin…but I think I am one of the pork steak ignorant!!

    Like

    • They’re getting around. It’s a fattier cut from the shoulder. I linked to a piece that talked about them and also the news article about the STL guy killing over them!

      Like

I like it when you talk to me

