reasons to be cheerful, part 3

Or a 3 parter…

You know how people fucking go on and on about Michael Jackson biting it or Anna Nicole Smith or even Lady Diana?

I couldn’t give a fuck.

The only celebrities which gave me a kick in the guts to hear shuffled off into the Afterworld are, in order of dropping dead:

Fred Rogers.

The only kind man I 'knew' throughout childhood, which is depressing as shite

The only kind man I ‘knew’ throughout childhood, which is depressing as shite

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

George Harrison

Which, in retrospect is just silly. I mean, he wrote some decent stuff but in reality, I imagine he was as big a prick as anybody else but ya know...

Which, in retrospect is just silly. I mean, he wrote some decent stuff but in reality, I imagine he was as big a prick as anybody else but ya know…

 

 

 

 

 

And Leonard Nimoy

I can spazz on about Star Trek but in short, ST was my earliest escape, my one real hope to cling to for a future when I saw nothing positive in my world from birth on. Star Trek wasn't just groovy, it made me think even if I were dead, maybe mankind could make something of itself. Spock showed me Science was Cool. Science IS cool.

I can spazz on about Star Trek but in short, ST was my earliest escape, my one real hope to cling to for a future when I saw nothing positive in my world from birth on. Star Trek wasn’t just groovy, it made me think even if I were dead, maybe mankind could make something of itself. Spock showed me Science was Cool. Science IS cool.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There have been a few others that bothered me what-with their dying. I think Jimmy Carter’s not long for this world and I’ll miss him, too.

As to the references: also from my youth, the fine Ian Drury:

Jim Carroll:

 

I like it when you talk to me

