European Black Pine, ornamental & Ozark Shortleaf ‘Bull’ Pine history

 
 -the whole kit and caboodle: pollen before it casts, young, adolescent and mature cone surrounded by needles

They grow here but will not reproduce (though found in the STL area to reproduce, which seems odd but that’s the Dept of Conservation’s call).

I really like the wee things. 

Of course, as an Ozarker, I prefer our native, gentle-giants better! Shortleaf Pine once covered the Ozarks but people like my family did what people who have nothing do: sold them to lumber companies. This needed in almost completely deforesting the region. This lead to erosion and the strip miners ruined whatever was left. The last several decades, deforesting schemes have been planted. They are not Our Pines, though (they plant White Pines). You still see Shortleafs (sometimes called the folk name ‘Bull Pine’) in my area and further south, often by homesteads or in cemeteries where they were offered protection from the lumber companies.

  -not my photo but rather proves my point of extant Bull Pines here. The big guy? That’s our boy!

I like it when you talk to me

