One of my life-time heroes, dead a long time but I’m looking back

This is not a retrospective AT ALL. I don’t expect for people other than me to be a fan of his stuff beyond Werewolves of London, which got airplay since about 1971. This means he has been a part of my ENTIRE life, as a musician and writer, of course.

Anyhoo, if you’re a fan, these was from his last Letterman appearance. If you’re not a fan, it could kinda give you a clue as to what a fantastic maniac he was — yet down to earth about being a maniac. It’s worth watching. The first section is more of a sit-down. The balance are performances. Spoiler: he’s dying at this point of terminal lung cancer and joking about it. And singing. <3Zevon

A lot like George Harrison’s posthumously-released album, impending death was foremost on the mind but not as a big boohoo. More just looking at life over your shoulder.

What more can you say? This ought to be a flipping anthem:

Perhaps one of my all-time favourite tunes to belt in the car:

I had the shit till it all got smoked
I kept the promise till the vow got broke
I had to drink from the lovin’ cup
I stood on the banks till the river rose up
I saw the bride in her wedding gown
I was in the house when the house burned down

I may be old and I may be bent
But I had the money till it all got spent
I had the money till they made me pay
Then I had the sense to be on my way
I had to stay in the underground
I was in the house when the house burned down

I was in the house when the house burned down
I met the man with the thorny crown
I helped Him carry his cross through town
I was in the house when the house burned down

I was in the house when the house burned down
I met the man with the thorny crown
I helped Him carry his cross through town
I was in the house when the house burned down

I had the shit till it all got smoked
I kept the promise till the vow got broke
I had to drink from the lovin’ cup
I stood on the banks till the river rose up
I saw the bride in her wedding gown
I was in the house when the house burned down

I like it when you talk to me

