a lovely bit on the psychology of why we love this sad story at Halloween: it’s the Great Pumpkin…

I flipped to this, expecting one of a couple of things and I was wrong.

Mendelson quotes Schulz saying that even while Linus is crushed, “it shows that you can’t always get what you hoped for, but you can still survive — and you can keep trying.”

And while I didn’t grow up with loads of holiday or kids-entertainment in general, Rudolph and Charlie Brown were on, albeit not for me. Nevertheless! I got to see them.

  
I watched the Halloween special as a teen, after I moved away. I recall thinking, ‘it really is hard for sequels, isn’t it?’

This piece has made me rethink that decades-old idea and I may need to watch this with a wiser eye.

I like it when you talk to me

