Keurig Descaling Ingredients

Growing up with our own mineral water supply, that means hard water, as in seeing pieces come of the tap.

I’ve used mostly vinegar–and recommend it highly–for descaling.

I have also made solutions with oxy-clean and found it useful.

I was given a bottle of Keurig brand descaler.

I thought it was probably vinegar…

Wrong! Per this article, it is:

  • >50% Citric Acid

That means that more than half the solution is made up of citric acid. It’s a great cleaning agent that comes from nature, so you can feel comfortable using this cleaning your Keurig.

  • <3% Silicic Acid.

Less than 3% of the solution is silicic acid. Silicic acid is “a weakly acidic colloidal hydrated form of silica made by acidifying solutions of alkali metal silicates.” This is a stabilizing agent.

  • <5% Phosphates and Bleaching Agents.

Phosphates are salts containing phosphorus and other compounds. Phosphorus is a naturally occurring compound. These are cleaning agents included in the descaling solution.

  • Water

Shit, I’ve used a citric acid solution making my own shampoo.

I’m phosphates are in all kinds of cleansers and I’m afraid that I can’t comment on silicic acid but I’m not too scaredy of any of these ingredients.

Using the bottle with water to fill a reservoir, it foamed up a couple of inches (poured water in slooowly, still did it).

I don’t know if I’d buy this product but I am curious about using a solution of citric acid since I have played with that before. I don’t know if it would cut out lime (the largest problem) and calcium alone.

Vinegar works but takes hours and hours (I descale weekly).

  

I like it when you talk to me

