‘Can I borrow your pocketknife?’…

Said every female in the Ozarks.

I am a female and we get them, too, but rarely carry on a daily basis.

My first pocketknife had a red handle, 2 blades and was my 8th bday present.

I had it for years and carved initials in terrapins’ backs, tree trunks, whittled and used it to cut baling twine (something you had to do daily on a working ranch).  

I think somebody swiped it.

Certainly a student swiped my larger ‘grownup’ pocketknife when I was teaching at-risk secondary school.

I know! What? You had a knife in a school with at-risk students?!?

It’s the Ozarks. NOBODY would think twice in the early 90s.

At work, a regular ‘joke’ everybody makes is, ‘OH, let me take a photo with my phone and send it to you’ or ‘oh, let me text you the directions’ or ‘oh, let me use my pocketknife.’ The variation on this, ‘let me borrow your phone / pocketknife.’

The answer is always, ‘sure, here you go’ then nothing as those are felonies, I believe class C just to have.

Long story to say, yes, I have a pocketknife. In fact I keep one in my car because I no longer carry my ‘real’ one in my pocketbook.

So, it was 100% natural to say, lemme see your pocketknife, I need tto cut the ropes off the tomato plants’ and for Spike to hand ‘er over. 

This pocketknife has cut bazillions of splinters and who-knows-its from my feet throughout childhoodbsince I ran barefoot through forests, pastures and rocks and creeks!

I like it when you talk to me

